And the Winners are…

Each year the Smithsonian Early Enrichment Center honors several of its educators for their outstanding contribution to our school.  Last week we enjoyed a Teacher Appreciation dinner where these awards were announced.

We’re thrilled to share that threes teacher Erin Pruckno was recognized as this year’s Diane Homiak award recipient, an honor that was well-deserved! The Diane Homiak award recognizes the commitment, creativity, and contribution of a stellar educator.   Erin’s dedication to the children in her class, her passion and creativity, and her support of parents were highlighted by those who nominated her.IMG_7003

This year we also recognized a first-year teacher as SEEC’s Rookie of the Year – that honor went to kindergarten teacher Silvana Oderisi!  Silvana was also singled out for her dedication to her students, her ability to reach each one individually, and her communication with parents. She’s made a significant impact in just a short time at SEEC, and we feel lucky to have her here!IMG_2234

Each year we also ask the staff to nominate peers who go out of their way to work collaboratively and support each other. We recognized three teachers as Team Players for their respective parts of the school.  Anne Kearney, Carolyn Eby, and Chris Conroy Smith were recognized by their colleagues as consummate professionals who do so much to support their colleagues.

While we were able to specifically recognize these five teachers, we have many more who were not award recipients – we are so fortunate to have an entire staff of dedicated, talented professionals!  Congratulations to all!