Twos Travelers

Our workshops offer a variety of hands-on experiences that introduce young children to concepts in engaging ways. Each class includes playful activities that are intentionally chosen to support your child’s development. Our learning extends beyond the classroom and into the museum and community where children and parents are encouraged to wonder and explore together as a family.

Ages | 24 – 36 months
Time
 | 10 – 11:30 am 
Cost |
$43
Ticket |
One Caretaker + One Child (one additional caretaker is welcome to join for the museum portion of the class)
Location | All classes begin at the National Museum of Natural History, Constitution Avenue Lobby and conclude at the museum listed in the course description

More Details


SCHEDULE OF CLASSES |  2017 – 2018

FEBRUARY

Space Adventure

Saturday, February 3 at 10am SOLD OUT
Sunday, February 4  at 10am SOLD OUT
Sunday, February 11  at 10am SOLD OUT

Calling all astronauts, it’s time to blast off into space!  Let’s use our imaginations to climb aboard a spaceship and go on a space adventure.  Through our play we will learn about how life in space is different form life on Earth.

Museum Visit National Air and Space Museum
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

MARCH

Riding In My Car

Saturday, March 3 at 10am
Sunday, March 4 at 10am SOLD OUT
Saturday, March 17 at 10am

Buckle your seatbelts, it’s time to go for a ride!  Through experimentation, our engineers will discover why wheels are circle shapes, and how they makes cars go.  We’ll end the class looking at some classic cars at the National Museum of American History.

Museum Visit |National Museum of American History
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

APRIL

Itsy Bitsy Spider

Saturday, April 7 at 10am
Saturday, April 14 at 10am
Sunday, April 15 at 10am

Did you know there are about 40,000 types of spiders in the world?! We’ll take a look at the vast variety among the species, and what traits they all have in common. Then we’ll try out being a spider and spin our own web!

Museum Visit |National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

MAY

Rabbit Rabbit

Saturday, May 5 at 10am
Sunday, May 6 at 10am
Saturday, May 12 at 10am

This class is sure to have something for everyone! We’ll learn about rabbit characteristics, before hopping over to the Hirshhorn Sculpture Garden where we’ll explore rabbits further by combining stories, music, and modern art.

Museum Visit |Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

JUNE

Elephants

Saturday, June 2 at 10am
Sunday, June 3 at 10am
Saturday, June 16 at 10am

Elephants are particularly lovable creatures who figure prominently in Indian culture. Children will learn about these gentle giants and visit the Sackler Gallery to hear a story about Ganesha, the elephant-headed Hindu god.

Museum Visit |Sackler Gallery
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

JULY

Monkeying Around

Saturday, July 7 at 10am
Sunday, July 8 at 10am
Saturday, July 21 at 10am

Are you ready for some monkey business? We’ll begin by learning about monkeys and some of their unique characteristics, and end our morning visiting Xu Bing’s Monkeys Grasp for the Moon that spans the three floors of the Sackler Gallery.

Museum Visit |Sackler Gallery
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018

AUGUST

Abiyoyo’s Coming

Saturday, August 4 at 10am
Sunday, August 5 at 10am
Saturday,  August 11 at 10am

Have you heard the news? Abiyoyo is coming! Jump into this story based on the South African lullaby and folk story through dramatic play, song, and art. Your family is sure to be singing “Abiyoyo” for days afterward.

Museum Visit |National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden
Eventbrite - Twos Travelers: Winter 2018